Books for Guided Reading Level R
with links to buy on Amazon

Below are books that are perfect for kids reading on  Guided Reading Level R. All of the book titles below are linked to that book on Amazon (or to our review page of that book, which also includes a link to buy on Amazon).  Please note that if you purchase an item from Amazon, they give us a small referral fee. (This helps pay for site hosting costs, thus allowing us to keep everything free for site visitors!)

Because of

Guided Rdg Level R

Guided Rdg Level R

Our Only May

Guided Rdg Level R

Bad Kitty Drawn
to Trouble

Guided Rdg Level R

In Too Deep:
The 39 Clues
Book #6

Guided Rdg Level R

The Emperor's
The 39
Clues #8

Guided Rdg Level R

Bowling Alley

Guided Rdg Level R

Guided Rdg Level R

Guided Rdg Level R

The School Story
Guided Rdg Level R

The Whipping

Guided Rdg Level R

Charlie and
the Chocolate

Guided Rdg Level R

The Adventures
of Ook and Gluk
Kung-Fu Cavemen
from the Future

Guided Rdg Level R

The Witches
Guided Rdg Level R

Double Fudge
Guided Rdg Level R

Charlotte's Web
Guided Rdg Level R

The Boy of a
Thousand Faces

Guided Rdg Level R

A Light in
the Attic

Guided Rdg Level R

My Eyes

Guided Rdg Level R

Aunt Harriet's Underground
Railroad in the Sky

Guided Rdg Level R

Chapter Book Series
written at Guided Reading Level R

Jedi Academy series: Most of the books in this series are written at Reading Level R, including: Jedi Academy Book 1, Return of the Padwan, The Phantom Bully, and Attack of the Journal.

Click here to see Star Wars series books on Amazon

Big Nate series: Several books in the Big Nate series are written at this level. Most are just one level up -- Level S -- but these three books are at level R: Big Nate Strikes Again, Big Nate Out Loud, and Big Nate Boredom Buster.

Click here to see Big Nate  books on Amazon

Captain Underpants series: Most of the books in this very popular series are written at Guided Reading Level R, including:

  • Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets
  • Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 1 and 2
  • Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants
  • Captain Underpants and the Preposterous Plight of the Purple Potty People
  • Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-A-Lot
  • Captain Underpants and the Terrifying Return of Tippy Tinkletrousers
  • Captain Underpants and the Revolting Revenge of the Radioactive Robo-Boxers
  • Captain Underpants and the Tyrannical Retaliation of the Turbo Toilet 2000

[FYI: There are three other book in this series. They are written at level P.].

Click here to see Captain Underpants  books on Amazon

Hank Zipper series: Many of the books in this series are written at Reading Level R. We've just barely learned about this series (co-written by Henry Winkler -- the Fonz!)  They are apparently very popular with kids, especially boys who struggle a bit in school. We will look into them more, but in the meantime we thought we'd let you know about them.

  • My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tale
  • The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
  • Holy Enchilada!
  • Niagara Falls, or Does It?
  • The Zippity Zinger
  • Summer School! What Genius Thought That Up?
  • The Day of the Iguana
  • My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard

Click here to see Hank Zipper series books on Amazon

Brian's Saga series: Four of the five books in the Hatchet / Brian's Saga series are written at this level, including: Hatchet, The River, Brian's Winter, and Brian's Hunt.  (The only book written on a different level is book 4: Brian's Return, which was written on level T).

Click here to see Hatchet/Brian's Saga  books on Amazon

Also be sure to check out our

Level R Sale Books

We sell individual books and sets of books written at level R. Our books are used, but they are also in great condition--ranging from like new to good.

Click the link to see the sets that are currently available.