Crispin: The Cross of Lead
by Avi

Set in 14th-century England, this "rattling fine yarn" (PW) tells of young boy who is accused of a murder he didn't commit and forced to flee for his life. Before leaving, he learns his true birth name from a priest, and goes in search of his true identity.

This book is "engineered for maximum thrills, with twists, turns and treachery aplenty." (Publisher's Weekly)  And, there are two sequel books (which trust will be quick to read after you're done with this one!)

Awards Won by this book

   - Newbery Medal 2003
   - American Library Ass. Notable Children's Book 2003
   - National Council of English Teachers Notable Book 2003
   - National Council for Social Studies Notable Book 2003

Reading Levels for this book

Interest Level:  Gr. 4-8            DRA Level:  60                  Lexile Measure: 780L
Grade Equivalent:  6.1           Guided Reading:  W

Book in the Series

There are three books in this series. Crispin: The Cross of Lead was the first one.

This book was an honoree for the prestigious Newbery Award for best children's literature. Click to see the full list of Newbery Award Winners.

Or check out other books by Avi. We don't know of any other children's book author who has been so successfully prolific as Avi. And for good reason!  Check out his books by clicking the link above or the book covers below.

Enjoy the books!

Betsy, Cindy, and Virginia (the teachers/sisters behind this website)

If this list was helpful, please press LIKE:

And follow us on Pinterest:

Enjoy our Facebook Feed Here