site search by freefind advanced

Dinotopia series
by James Gurney

A 19th century English scientist and his son are shipwrecked on Dinotopia, a fantastic lost world where intelligent dinosaurs and other marooned humans live together in peace. The narrative exists mainly to move the reader through the eye-popping illustrations and delightfully clever dinosaur-related contraptions.

There are four books in this fantasy series: Dinotopia, The World Beneath, Journey to Chandara, and First Flight.  These are fun books for true dinosaur lovers (although we agree with Publisher's Weekly, who said that the series is "too superficial for the serious fantasy reader...[but] great fun to browse through.")

Interest Level:    Grade 6+

Below are sample pages from inside the first book in the series (Dinotopia):

Below are sample pages from inside one of the books (Journey to Chandara):

Where to now?

Now that you've seen this great book, what would you like to see now?  Please note that as an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.